Workshops » SFB 491
International Workshop on Advances in Spintronic Materials:
The workshop concentrates on new Spintronics Materials regarding recent achievements of half-metallic Heusler alloys, but also considers classical oxide materials, double perovskites and multiferroics and doped magnetic semiconductors as well as corresponding cluster systems. The emphasis of the workshop is to bring together experts of ab initio density functional theory methods, dynamical mean field theory calculations and experimentalists being involved in spintronics using these new materials. New aspects of charge and spin transport through the heterogeneous systems with emphasis on the importance of spin-orbit coupling and electronic correlation effects will also be addressed.
International Workshop on Advances in Spintronic Materials: Theory and Experiment
International Workshop on Advances in Spintronic Materials: Theory and Experiment (Program) ()
Organization and contact
Peter Entel
phone: 0049 203 379 3330
fax: 0049 203 379 3665

Heike Herper
phone: 0049 203 379 3564

Peter Kratzer
phone: 0049 203 379 3313

Mario Siewert
phone: 0049 203 379 1073

Kurt Westerholt
phone: 0049 234 32 23621
When: November 26-28, 2008

Where: Technologiezentrum III, Bismarckstr. 142, Duisburg, Germany

link: International Workshop on Advances in Spintronic Materials: Theory and Experiment

Wednesday, November 26
Thursday, November 27
Friday, November 28
13:00–13:15 Opening address
First Session: Spintronics
Chairman: Jürgen König
13:15–14:00 T. Jungwirth (Prague)
Semiconductor spintronics in ferromagnetic and non-magnetic p-n junctions
14:00–14:45 G. Tatara (Tokyo)
Novel Magnetoelectric Effects -- Current-Driven Domain Wall Dynamics and Inverse Spin Hall Effect
14:45–15:15 Coffee Break
Chairman: Michele Governale
15:15–16:00 D. Weiss (Regensburg)
Spin-injection and Coulomb-blockade in (Ga,Mn)As based systems
16:00–16:45 M. Kläui (Konstanz)
Interactions between spin currents and nanoscale magnetic elements in different materials classes
16:45–17:30 P. Mavropoulos (Jülich)
Recent advances in silicon spintronics
Second Session: Heusler compounds - magnetism and transport
Chairman: Dietrich E. Wolf
09:00–09:45 C. Felser (Mainz)
Ferrimagnetic Heusler compounds
09:45–10:30 P. Kratzer (Duisburg-Essen)
Thermodynamics, electronic and magnetic properties of Co2-xMn1+xSi bulk and Co2MnSi/MgO(001) heterostructures
10:30–11:00 Coffee Break
Chairman: Heike C. Herper
11:00–11:45 J. Hamrle (Kaiserslautern)
Magneto-optical Kerr effect and exchange stiffness in Co2-based Heusler compounds
11:45–12:30 G. Jakob (Mainz)
Hall effect and electronic structure of half metallic Co2FexMn1-xSi films
12:30–13:30 Lunch Break
Chairman: Kurt Westerholt
13:30–14:15 K. Inomata (Tsubuka)
Half-metallic Co2FeAl0.5Si0.5 Heusler Alloy for Spintronics
14:15–15:00 J. Kudrnovsky (Prague)
Electronic, magnetic, and transport properties and magnetic phase transition in quaternary (Cu,Ni)MnSb Heusler alloys
15:00–15:30 Coffee Break
Chairman: Wolfgang Kleemann
15:30–16:15 A. Hutten (Bielefeld)
Magnetic nanoparticles: fundamentals and application
16:15–17:00 S. Zhou (Dresden)
Semiconductor-based tunnel structures: preparation and application
17:00–17:45 M. Lezaic (Julich)
Room temperature multiferroics: Are we there yet?
18:00–21:00 Dinner & Posters
Third Session: Doped oxides
Chairman: Peter Kratzer
09:00–09:45 R. Pentcheva (Munchen)
Emergence of novel electronic and magnetic phases at polar oxide interfaces
09:45–10:30 H. Wu (Koln)
Ab initio study of ferromagnetic film on silicon and of ferroelectric Ising chain magnet
10:30–11:00 Coffee Break
Chairman: Hartmut Zabel
11:00–11:45 A. Ney (Duisburg-Essen)
Co-doped ZnO: from an anisotropic paramagnet to a phase separated superparamagnet
11:45–12:30 K. Sato (Osaka)
Inhomogeneity control in dilute magnetic semiconductors and its application to the materials design for semiconductor spintronics
12:30–13:30 Lunch Break
Chairman: Heiko Wende
13:30–14:15 G.-Y. Guo (Taipei)
Ab Initio Studies of Spin Hall Effect
14:15–15:00 H. Ebert (Munchen)
Application of the self-consistent implementation of the LSDA+DMFT- scheme with the KKR-formalism and its use in spectroscopy
Chairman: Axel Lorke
15:00–15:45 H. Wende (Duisburg-Essen)
Molecules, nanoparticles, and thin films: The importance of surfaces and interfaces
15:45–16:30 N. Akdogan (Kocaeli)
Intrinsic room temperature ferromagnetism in Co-doped ZnO
16:30–16:35 P. Entel
Closing remarks